Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am living in DC and really do not like it. Too flat, too much traffic, too much crime, too expensive. Loosing my job in Nov also has not lead to any love.

It looks like I have an offer in Kingston. What is the cycling, road and mtb, like in that area? Looks too flat for my tastes as I considered central PA too flat.

·
Loser
5,536 Posts
I'm no RI expert, but Kingston looks to be close to Arcadia. Yes RI seems to be flat, but you will be surprised at the elevation changes in Arcadia. Overall some gut busting climbs out there. Pretty similar to riding in other places in NE - shortish hills with lots of technical bits. Arcadia is pretty big, I would guess 50 miles of rideable single and double track, it really is a beautiful park.

That said, there are not a ton of other riding options close by, Lincoln Woods, Burlingame and Pachaug are a few closer places. If you don't mind driving a bit (1-1.5 hours) you can hit Case and a lot of the other CT and Eastern MA rides. I have no idea on road biking, perhaps someone else who is more local can chime in.

John

·
Registered
876 Posts
Southern New England

I think you will be surprised at the cycling in RI, especially the mountain biking in Arcadia and Big River. There are no climbs that will have your spending forever "earning your turns" but if you like rolling XC/Trail riding with lots of woop-di-doos, those two places will have you grinning. Not that you won't occassionally sweat and grind out some climbs!

As for road riding, I don't know that area as well as southern/eastern CT, so I can't speak to it too well. You're not too far away from SE CT though, and the Pequot cyclists are a really active road club who sometimes stray into western RI. You want climbing on the road though, come visit the CT river valley betwen the shore and Middletown, CT. I doubt you can get more climbing in in a ride without mountains!