Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Big Wheel Homer !!
1,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This may not be the right forum but I guess for the training aspect it is. I've been riding for 4-5 years now and feel like my technical skills are pretty good and when I ride with my usual group I feel good after the ride. I don't do any racing and really don't plan to, but when I ride with some of the guys in our club that do a lot of racing I tend to get dropped pretty quick. So, my goal for this year is to get to where I'm able to hang with some of these guys. My first agenda is to loose a few pounds. I started the year at 220 and I am now down to 211 with a goal of 190-195, at 6'3" that should be a good weight. Second, is to get my endurance level up. What are the keys to riding faster, longer? Trail miles? Road miles? A lot of climbing? What helps the most? Where should I focus my training?

Thanks

·
Always Learning
9,608 Posts
cruzthepug said:
This may not be the right forum but I guess for the training aspect it is. I've been riding for 4-5 years now and feel like my technical skills are pretty good and when I ride with my usual group I feel good after the ride. I don't do any racing and really don't plan to, but when I ride with some of the guys in our club that do a lot of racing I tend to get dropped pretty quick. So, my goal for this year is to get to where I'm able to hang with some of these guys. My first agenda is to loose a few pounds. I started the year at 220 and I am now down to 211 with a goal of 190-195, at 6'3" that should be a good weight. Second, is to get my endurance level up. What are the keys to riding faster, longer? Trail miles? Road miles? A lot of climbing? What helps the most? Where should I focus my training?

Thanks