Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like the title sayd this is about the John Muir Trail in Kettle Moraine South. Has anyone ever been there? Lemme know whatcha think. I'm a beginner and want to get into the sport more.

July 15th
10:30 Start
??? End
I'll be heading up to the trail around 9:30-9:45 from Milwaukee, WI if anyone would like to meet me at the trail or hop in my car and carpool there.

Post up here is any one wants to check it out with me.

Elijah
AIM: smartpartsfreak5
MSN & Email: [email protected]

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Its a great place to ride. Lots of options, from very simple to difficult singletrack. The trails are fairly clear of obstacles, so its more of a fast place to ride. Some sections are rocky, some are sandy (northern section of the blue loop), but all in all its a LOT of fun.

Don't know if I'll be able to make it up there on the 15th, but have fun anyways!

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Here's a map of the trails:

http://my.execpc.com/~jwamser/SouthernKettles/JohnMuir_2001.pdf

The only change is that they recently redid the connector trail up to the Emma Carlin trail. I haven't been on that yet. All the trails are one-way IIRC, so that makes things a little easier. I'd say ride the blue loop, but take it at your own pace. The sandy section up north wears you out if you're not ready for it, but the trail's a blast anyway. If you're not up for a 10 mile loop, try either the orange or green loops, just beware of the hill you have to climb where they split off from the blue loop.

Another thing you may not be aware of: you need a trail pass to ride. They're availabe at the trailhead, either daily or season. More info about the place is available HERE

HTH!
Dan

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Cool, Thanks