Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the stock md40s with 2.8 tires along with 175mm cranks. I apologise in advance if this is a dumb question but I'm new to the 27.5. I'm having wheels made that can take 2.2 tire. Will this tire change the hight of the bb to a point wear I should use a 170mm crank or will it not matter?

·
Wanna ride bikes?
9,839 Posts
I have the stock md40s with 2.8 tires along with 175mm cranks. I apologise in advance if this is a dumb question but I'm new to the 27.5. I'm having wheels made that can take 2.2 tire. Will this tire change the hight of the bb to a point wear I should use a 170mm crank or will it not matter?
The current bike comes with different wheels and tires. What year is your frame and which wheels/tires are spec'd?

What are your new wheels? specifically what rims and tires? 2.2 is pretty vague.

No strong conclusions can be made without specific details.

·
Registered
24,083 Posts
2.2" what, 29" or 650B? If you mean 29", then the BB will actually raise quite a bit as a 2.8" B+ tyre is about 1/2-3/4" shorter than a 29x2.2", if you mean 650B (no clue WTF you'd do this), then the BB will drop.

·
Banned
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The current bike comes with different wheels and tires. What year is your frame and which wheels/tires are spec'd?

What are your new wheels? specifically what rims and tires? 2.2 is pretty vague.

No strong conclusions can be made without specific details.
I currently have 27.5 MD 40s that came on the bike with 2.8 tires. My new wheels are 27.5 spank oozy 350s and the tires I'm putting on them are Halo Twin Rail II 27.5" Tire - 27.5 x 2.2.

·
Wanna ride bikes?
9,839 Posts
I currently have 27.5 MD 40s that came on the bike with 2.8 tires. My new wheels are 27.5 spank oozy 350s and the tires I'm putting on them are Halo Twin Rail II 27.5" Tire - 27.5 x 2.2.