Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys..
Just curious what the comments were on this bike across the web community as here is where all the TRUE knowledge resides.
Just picked up the GT 1.0 avalanche model.

thanks.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I'm also a newbie (well, I used to ride about 10 years ago) and have been on an Avalanche 2.0 for a month. So far I've been happy, the frame seems very solid for the kind of riding I do (singletrack, no jumps or drops or anything like that). On my budget I couldn't really get a full suspension rig, but the Avalanche seems like a very capable bike. Enjoy!

·
(enter witty phrase here)
2,250 Posts
BX02 said:
Hi guys..
Just curious what the comments were on this bike across the web community as here is where all the TRUE knowledge resides.
Just picked up the GT 1.0 avalanche model.
Its a fine bike. But it really depends on what you paid for it and what type of riding you do. If it's only going to see sidewalks and gravel paths, it's a super awesome bike and you spent too much.
If you're planning on racing downhill it's junk.

Oh, and if you don't intend to ride it on the road at night, loose the reflectors. They're gonna fall off on the trail anyway.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
tlg said:
Its a fine bike. But it really depends on what you paid for it and what type of riding you do. If it's only going to see sidewalks and gravel paths, it's a super awesome bike and you spent too much.
If you're planning on racing downhill it's junk.

Oh, and if you don't intend to ride it on the road at night, loose the reflectors. They're gonna fall off on the trail anyway.
I did some off road trails yesterday..but I don't intend on RACING down them per say.
But I went down some steep paths and I enjoyed it..
so I guess gravel paths and of course wooded trails is what I am looking at-down and up hill.
No jumps for now.

·
2,250 Posts
BX02 said: