Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I just wanna ride my bike
845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I completed a 2-year Bachelor of Commerce degree in fall 2009; a personal achievement I'm proud of but with full time work and school, it meant very little riding throughout 2009. So I became a "weekend warrior", riding here and there throughout the year to keep myself sane and to prevent my butt getting completely flat from countless hours of studying :)

With a record 35 inches of snow falling in Vancouver and area, 2009 started with recreational activities sans wheels.

As is typical of the Pacific Northwest, we were soon back to rain and very wet trails.

Getting tired of said rain and wet trails, we headed for St. George, Utah over the Easter long weekend. We "dragged" along some friends who were keen on seeing blue skies and dry rocks, too.

The perfect weekend warrior rental vehicle for four people and four (rental) bikes.

Fun first rip of the trip: Goulds/JEM/Hurricane Rim loop. Heading down JEM.

Grinding up the last stretch of Hurricane.

No high-desert trip is without its share of cacti needle removal.

Next up was Gooseberry Mesa with Tiggerider. Tiggerider being drafted by Biggles604.

Tiggerider showing us how its done...on a Canadian bike :thumbsup:

The Canadian crew--Fluid, Biggles604, TheOtherH, CraigH--and Tiggerider (far right).

Being so close to Zion National Park, we took the opportunity to hike Angel's Landing.

It's a long way down...

Our plan to ride Little Creek Mesa on our last day was kaiboshed by a thunder/lightening storm with a possibility of snow. So we rode Broken Mesa instead. Although it was a cloudy, cool day, the colours of the high desert were beautiful.

In May, it was on to Kelowna (BC). We spent one day riding the Crawford Trails in Myra-Bellevue Provincial Park where the huge forest fire in 2003 left its black mark.

Great spot for a break; view of Okanagan Lake.