Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just want to vent some frustrations about my Avid Juicy 7s and sing my praises for Larry at Mtn. High Cycles.

Let me begin by saying that I'm a decent bike mechanic and that I've bled many a brake. Mostly Hayes, some Magura HS-33s back in the day and some hopes as well. This issue is closely related to another 'Juicy...beware...' posting in this forum.

Anyway, I while ago I picked up a pair of Juicy 7s. All was well and only the rear hose needed shortening. That said, I picked up a Juicy bleed kit. The instructions state to insert a hose barb into the hose, then slip the compression olive over the assembly, blah, blah, blah... when compressing, tighten the compression nut until the olive bottoms. Then tighten an additional 1.5 turns. I tightened an additional 1 turn before I hit tons of resistance.

I took the bike for a ride and all appeared well until I noticed that the fluid window was now slightly recessed. I pulled the compression nut cover off and noticed that fluid was leaking from the fluid. Oddly enough, fluid was leaving the system, but air wasn't coming back in.

I attempted to tighten the compression nut that additional half turn, rebleed and see what happens. All appeared well in the bike stand, but once out on the trail where they were really squeezed over and over again, I saw the same seepage.

I still had a compression olive and barb left, so I tried to do it all over again. This time, while one-quarter turn into the specified bottoming of the compression olive the compression nut cracked on all of it's flats. FARK!!!