Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
ride ride ride
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah. I think they're too grabby. I'm new to hydraulic brakes so I'm not sure how to rectify this situation but I figure different pads would be a good start. The front seems to be grabbier than the back ... possibly because it's the larger rotor (203 mm)? TIA for input. :cheers:

·
Registered
158 Posts
Adjust contact point

not sure if have tried this but with an allen key you can adjust the contact point of pad engagement, You will see a red dial on your brake levers and a corresponding arrow.

Try different adjustments.

If that doesnt work then may be your calipers need to be reset, check the dial first.

The point of hydo's is to have better modulation and stopping power over other brakes.

You shoul be able to feather your brakes without a total lock up.

Sometimes if the pads and rotors are worn you lose modulation - have you checked your set up?

·
Registered
266 Posts
My Juicy 7's are grabby too, I like it that way though. It is easy enough to modulate by hand. Go with a smaller rotor if you arent concerned about losing a bit of power. You could also just let a bubble into your brake line:D

·
ride ride ride
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Maybe I conveyed the impression that they're ridiculously grabby ... they're not. When I have any kind of speed going they're fine and modulate well enough. The grab is noticeable (and annoying) when I try to do controlled moves at very low speed, especially in standstill / adjust position maneuvers.

Bike is new and I have no reason to think the adjustments are bad, though I'll check them out and thanks for the suggestion ... I seem to remember that some people here have studied opinions on pads ... any thoughts on good pads anyone?

·
Registered
21 Posts