Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Recovering couch patato
14,019 Posts
There was a post this week with a Jones bar that had forward sweep and a one-part horn section. Especially good for grip shifts, etc, as the weld does not get in the way.
Exactly what the docter ordered. For me the old style H is a SS bars, work fair enough for that, and that's an understatement.

3,617 Posts
i've been running titec h-bars with Sram triggers for at least a couple of years now.
on my Pug
and now again on my Big Dummy

i've wrapped the center section(s) with plain ol cork tape
then for the grips I've used Oury slip on grips, but i wrapped that part of the bar with electrical tape, making it have a bulge, so when the grips slide on... it has a shape for the palm of your hands. cut off the mushroom end piece of the grip, and use a bar plug.

I've used Oury grips for years, and it was funny to me that it finally dawned on me to use the electrical tape "bulge" trick. that's an old trick from when i was a kid. i thought it was funny that i had forgot about it for so long.

i think the trick to the H-bar is to try to keep the top section nice and flat... that is... the intersection of the straight bar, and what would be bar ends. that way you can place your palms there. as if to mimic the riding posture with a flat bar, and bar-ends.

Attachments

·
The Human Arrow
107 Posts
1x 9 geared on Jones H-Bar ....El Mariachi

Here's my solution for 1x9 on my El Mariachi with Jones Bars... Been running this setup since last September. Very easy to dump gears, and just a little harder to grab for gears. This is simply an upside-down LX shifter pod that I had laying around....

I just rode this combo for the Lumberjack 100 here in Michigan, and it did fine.
35-tooth spiderless Spot front ring, 11-34 XT rear cassette.

-Denis

·
Reviewer/Tester
6,176 Posts
I use Jones bars with SRAM twist grip shifter on my geared bikes. It works very well. Currently running 1 x 9.