Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is my first attempt at doing any kind of research @ all. its been a little while since i have seen any new input on stainless tubes... anyone with some new input? i've read some back posts and it seemed there were better options... any new input/info would be great... will try to do some research on my own elsewhere but figured i would start here. thanks alot. just pondering the idea.

·
Registered
125 Posts
I have some lugged stainless bikes coming up. I have XCr on the way and I just got some KVA material this morning. I also ordered some straight gauge from KVA to do some practice welding on. I have to say that the finish on the butted KVA main tubes and double taper seatstays is really nice. The chainstays are coming later in October. I'm looking forward to seeing this batch of XCr too. The straight gauge KVA is as-welded and has a visible seam.

I did a couple of test welds today on the straight gauge. This is the first time I've ever welded stainless tubing, so it was certainly interesting. These tubes are 28.6 mm OD x 0.75 mm wall welded to 38.1 mm OD x 1.00 mm wall. I had a brain fart and cratered the tie-in on the second weld, which I was ticked at myself about. I was too excited to put my hood up and look at the weld and I cut the power too quickly. Dumb, I know. I also got melt through on the inside of the 1.5" tube all of the way around. So I need to pick up my pace. The nice thing is it gave me an idea of how my backpurge setup is performing.