Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Never enough time to ride
1,575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just how much crap there is in a new Marzocchi. Just changed the oil in my brand new 2002 Atom 100, and yuck. I've been riding Marzocchi's for the last four years, and every time I change the oil on a new one, I'm still surprised. Especially the stuff that comes out of the ECC and the HSCV. But they work so damned smooth, I think I can put up with some dirty oil :p

happy trails...

squish

·
No, that's not phonetic
14,313 Posts
Yeah, I just did the 2nd (or 3rd?) oil change in my "new" (as of January) Z1 FR1 and the rebound side looked like a coal slurry. The ETA side looked decent. Get in there, people...

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
That is generally due to the fact that Marzocchi does not hard anodize the parts in these forks' internals. Fox, for instance, does, and while they still have a dirty initial oil change, it is not usually *as* dirty. Manitous usually avoid metal on metal contact, and so their oil stays relatively clean. They also do not use an open bath system, so it is not an accurate comparison anyway.

I can't recall if they anodize the internals in 888 or 66 forks. I would hope they would, as these are really nice forks, and have represented a nice step up for Marzocchi.

·
1,575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
For what you pay for the new 888 and 66 I would hope so. A couple of the guys I ride with run Fox Forx and I've done some service work on both of them and am really impressed with how clean the oil stays, what didn't impress me was how quickly their bushing slopped out and the oil rings that were left behind out of the box. I'm not saying they are a bad fork, quite the opposite I would have gotten a Float if I hadn't found this one first.