Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've bought a 2003 Kona Kikapu FS, and have been riding it XC and single track for about 6 months (bar the past 5 as I've been injured). I've been reading around and can't make my mind up whether my frame is too small. I knew I wanted a small frame because I like throwing the bike around a bit on the trails. My Frame is about 18" I think, and I'm 6'4". I ride with the seat post up and saddle right back, and it seems to suit me.

The only trouble is, is I'm new to all of this, and this is my first proper bike. It feels right, but I don't really have anything to judge it against.

Anyone with any experience please help! Thanks

·
Registered
138 Posts
First thing is that bike fit is MOST important. That being said it sound like you are comfortable on the bike. Depends on what you are riding as far as size goes. Sound like it is too small but if you are comfortable that is what matters. Is there any of your friends that have bikes that are bigger you could try for a ride to see if they feel even better? If not how about demoing or renting abike to see what it feels like.

·
Registered
175 Posts
After getting yourself a bike, it's time to have fun. Get out and ride hard as often as possible!!! That's a great bike, btw. I usually ride a 17" frame but could be on either a 15" or 19" depends on manufactures. Check these sites. http://www.coloradocyclist.com/bikefit/
http://www.wrenchscience.com/WS1/default.asp

griggaa said:
Hi,

I've bought a 2003 Kona Kikapu FS, and have been riding it XC and single track for about 6 months (bar the past 5 as I've been injured). I've been reading around and can't make my mind up whether my frame is too small. I knew I wanted a small frame because I like throwing the bike around a bit on the trails. My Frame is about 18" I think, and I'm 6'4". I ride with the seat post up and saddle right back, and it seems to suit me.