Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people,
I would love some advice on what to do with my bike. I bought a 2013 trek superfly comp carbon with upgrades. This is my first mountain bike and was just hoping to use it to get into the sport.
I'm new to bike tech and what can be upgraded and what can't. Realizing this bike is a bit long in the tooth, I'm needing to replace a couple parts.
Namely the rear shifter, the rear brake, and fork.
Whoever had this bike before me replaced the drivetrain with sram 1x11 xx1, avid brakes, and a fox f29 32 with 110 mm of travel. Note that it seems all of these upgrades are from or around the year of the bike. So kinda old.
So, the questions are many. Is the bike worth putting money into to replace a bunch of expensive parts, or should I sell as is.
Also, can newer xx1, x01, or lower even be put on the bike?
What fork would be best on this bike?

Whew. I know this is a lot, but I would love to hear what you all think.

Thanks in advance.

·
monster member
1,030 Posts
It's going to be a question of passion. Are you one to get familiar with something, feel like it's "your baby" and keep it going? Or do you like to have the latest?

I had a 2001 bike that I loved until both ends of suspension died during a 35F ride around 2017. Because some nuts and bolts were rusty, I had just bought some titanium nyloc nuts and bolts with blue-anodized aluminum washers to dress it up but when the suspension died, it just didn't seem worth it to replace everything. I was curious about bigger-wheel bikes, and you can't just walk up to that... had to get a new bike. Spent $5k on a 29'er and not sure about it... maybe should'a gotten a 27.5'er. I still have that '01 26'er and still think about getting new suspension for it. (Like $1300 probably.)

No one can answer your question for you. YOu have to try out some bikes or think about the likes/dislikes of your old bike.

·