Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Recovering Weight Weenie
8,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I started riding mountain bikes on full-suspension.

A few years later, I discovered singlespeeds, due in part to the singlespeed board and in part to Andy aka Rut.

Aboard a singlespeed, I found out that I like hardtails too. Since then I've wondered what a geared bike with a hardtail would be like. When I had my Vulture converted to gears and spent a few hundred miles on it, I knew I loved it. I wanted to feel the speed that the hardtail affords, and the in-touch sense of the rigid back-end. Oh yes…I wanted to cut out unnecessary weight also…who needs it?

So this project began after some financial restructuring…aka clean out garage and put old equipment on ebay.

Then the sky opened up…

And this appeared….

This is my 3rd custom frame. I'm learning that I'm getting better at working with builders and determining what I really want. I know this because this newest darling is downright amazing.

She started a little rough.
I wanted room for a muddy Exiwolf in the stays…and a very solid BB area…along with a compliant vertical ride.

She's all built know.
Who'd a thunk that a guy 6'6 with almost a 39" inseam could ride a bike that looks this good (*wink) and uses ZERO headset spacers and a flat bar? Not me. But it's here and again..it's amazing.

It's not a weight weenie build persay, but there is no unnecessary weight, that's for sure…

Scott Quiring was a great builder to work with. He really delivered.

Check out www.quiringcycles.net and go to the ti mountain 29er gallery under "erik 29" to see the beautiful frame only shots Scott took.

Build is as follows:
Quiring ti 29er size HUGE (tt is 26.38" and ST is 22")

Middleburn compact cranks 20ti-30ti-42alu

Phil Wood Stainless BB

Time Atac Carbon/ti pedals

PC-99 chain

Wheels:
DT 240 centerlock hubs
Salsa Delgado wheels
DT Competition spokes
7" Avid Clean Sweep rotors