Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's up y'all? I just moved to SoCal and my backyard is literally a place called Daley Ranch. I'm new to mountain biking on the dirt, although I've been riding a bike consistently for 15 years. With such a great locale, I want to start hitting the trails, but also still like to ride on the pavement. Got offered a pretty nice deal on a 2006 Gary Fisher Tassajara from an LBS, and was wondering if it's too much bike for what I'm looking for? They've got some cheaper Trek models that I could go with, but I've always preferred quality over quantity. My question is, am I just wasting money going with the better model?

·
Registered
27 Posts
from everything i've read about them they are great bikes. plus you won't outgrow it any time soon. just ride it and make sure you like the fit, as the fisher geometry is a bit different than many other brands. it seems to be a love it or hate it kind of thing. bottom line is if you drop down much below the price point of the tass you'll start to give up quality components to save the cash. i'd say go for it if it won't break your bank.

·
Double-metric mtb man
4,482 Posts
I rode a special edition Marlin for a bit (now the "Piranah), which is basically a step down from the Tass. If my experience is any indicator, then the Tass would be a wonderful bike that will do well for a beginner but have sufficient oomph to take on more as you progress. I have to agree, get out there and ride it...it is a like it or leave it on the geometry....myself I like it, and have upgraded to a GF full suspension bike.

·
ride hard take risks
25,423 Posts