Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Anyone buy the Ripmo (or similar) and later regret it feeling like you have too much bike?

I've been riding for many years on a Niner hardtail with 100mm SID. I love it actually. But my shop has some Ripmo's coming in and I'm seriously interested. A riding buddy mentioned I might want to consider the Ripley, and the shop guys say "sure the Ripley is great" but they think the Ripmo is close in weight and it's preferable to go for the extra travel available on the Ripmo.

I'm 53 and live in Northern Utah. I'm a weak climber. I have lots of trails with some very steep up, and steep down, with some flow, rock gardens and a bit of chunk here and there.

I have tried a Yeti SB130 on my trails and it didn't feel over biked but I did have to walk/push it up in more places than usual compared to my HT. I also demo-ed a e-bike the Orbea Rise and while it was loads of fun and solved my weak legs issue, I just think I'd still rather have a regular pedal bike.

Maybe as between the Ripley and Ripmo it just comes down to personal preference, but I really don't want to drop the coin on this and come to feel I made the wrong choice.

Thoughts?

[Edit: changed "Ridley" to "Ripley." Thanks!]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
431 Posts
There are no wrong choices, just personal preferences. One man's short travel is another man's downhill bike.

Why not demo both, then you can know if you have too much travel for how you ride? Bikers Edge has both in m-xl for demo.

Since you already have a hardtail, I'd say go for the Ripmo. If you need short travel you have the hard tails, and of you need big travel, you'll have that too.

That said, 120-130mm is perfect for all of northern Utah. There are only a handful of trails that a bigger travel bikes excel on in all of Utah compared to other states I've ridden in.