Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. :D I'm about 6'0" tall and weigh about 240. I should be down around 220 by summer. My bike is a GT I-Drive 3.0 and it's time to upgrade the fork. I'm looking at a 2005 Fox RLT that has 80mm of travel; it is an air shock. I ride almost exclusively XC. Will this fork do the trick? Is there any reason to spend more money for a 100mm fork?

·
Recovering Weight Weenie
8,821 Posts
I've been riding 100mm exclusively for a few years.
I retro'd an old bike with an 80mm fork. I rode it for 3 rides and came to the conclusion that 80mm isn't enough. I have to run too much air in it to allow it to be plush.

Upping the travel to 90mm made a noticable difference in plushness.

If your frame will accomodate, I'd suggest 100mm.

·
local trails rider
12,300 Posts
What fork is on the bike now?
Generally, you should stick to a fork that is about the same length as the old one, unless you want to change the geometry and the way the bike handles.

·
Gus, just Gus.
147 Posts
Perttime has it right. You need to replace it with the same length, otherwise you may screw up your geometry. The bike would handle significantly different if you lower/raised the front end.

Of course, this is all opinion. ;)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The fork on it now is a Rock Shox Judy. It came as OEM on the bike and I had the stiffest spring kit put in. As far as I'm concerned though, the front of the bike sits too low; I would welcome a change that brought the front end up some.

·
Registered
664 Posts