Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
notabouttoseeyourlight
2,664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over a trail, is descending 5000 feet a lot? I have no experience in altitude so I apologize if this is a stupid question. Can somebody give me a point of reference or something?

And yes, I am scouting. :p

·
Glad to Be Alive
43,009 Posts
coma13 said:
Over a trail, is descending 5000 feet a lot? I have no experience in altitude so I apologize if this is a stupid question. Can somebody give me a point of reference or something?

yes that is a lot...a very lot...if you can get it to flow and have it shuttable...then i am in

·
Registered
285 Posts
Well, Whistler is about 4000 feet vertical, and if you rode it without stopping, you'd be painfully peeling your hands off the handlebars. It take most people about 30-40 minutes, on technical trails. A bit less on jump trails. 5000 feet is definitely some hefty vertical, especially if you have to ride up first. I couldn't imagine riding to the top of Whistler on my big bike.

·
I like air!
915 Posts
coma13 said:

There are ski resorts in the NE that are only 1000'. I think Mt Everest is only about 4 or 5 times the height. If you base jumped off a 5000 foot cliff you could freefall for almost 15-20 sec before pull time. So I would say thats pretty large.

·
N* Bomber Crew
4,271 Posts
5,000 is a TON. I think the base of Mt. Hood is like 5,000 feet. Thats a lot of vertical. Its like riding from Blue Canyon in the Sierras down to the beach...thats nuts.

I am in too, let me install my new fork first.

·
notabouttoseeyourlight
2,664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Ohhhhhh boy. That's kinda what I was thinking, I just didn't want to get excited. I think it'd be a bit under maybe like 4,700' or more.

·
Registered
346 Posts
I didn't know there were hills that big in north county SD.