Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to fat bikes. Currently run a stumpjumper with 2.3 in the back and 2.6 up front.
I was looking at the framed Alaskan 27.5 but worry about the tire size limitation. It comes with a 4” tire and max size is 4.25”.

is 4” wide enough for snow?

I am 250 lbs geared up if that helps.

· Elitest thrill junkie
41,092 Posts
For some days, sure.

For other days, no. In some cases, it'll rut-out the trails more, but everyone riding will be rutting out the trails, that kind of depends on the trail maintenance too (snow dragon?), etc.

I was talking with some friends a few days ago about how I don't see a point to the D4 tire, to me, it sucks everywhere in the winter, whereas the D5 seems to be decent everywhere, while not outstanding. A great all-around tire. My theory is that for many years, we were "stuck" with D4s and that's all people ran. I'm about 160-170, but I was corrected that lighter weight riders can probably get along fine with D4s. That makes sense.

IME, 27.5 doesn't get you better float. It gets you better uphill traction due to the longer contact patch, but that's the only significant advantage I've found running both and doing a lot of switching back and forth last winter. At your weight, for float, I'd be considering a 26" J5 setup, not a 27.5...unless you are riding some truly hard-packed stuff in the winter, where you don't need wider tires anyway. As you start prioritizing float, you also have to ask the question of how often you encounter the situations where it's really necessary. Sometimes it's nearly all the time on loosely-packed stuff that has foot-prints and not much traffic. Sometimes it's not often, because new snow is either too deep or too rare to hedge having more float for. Depends on how fast the trails get packed down, etc.

Cyclocross is wide enough for snow when conditions are right.

Reactions: northy185

· Wanna ride bikes?