Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all I'm a noob here. I've been lurking around for a while now but never posted. I'm new to biking also and almost purchased a walmart/target bike until I came across this site. Thanks guys!

Anyways, some guy is selling an '06 Specialized Hardrock Sport 19" in mint condition because he doesn't have time for it and the sport just wasn't for him. So the bike has been sitting in his house collecting dust and he claims to have only ridden it once. The guy is the same height as me too 5'10"/5'11".

The bike is stock but comes along with a lock, helmet, pump, saddle kit with patch kit/tools, and water bottle. Is this a good deal? A LBS has the same model for $329+tax w/out accessories.

If so, what should I be looking at when I drop by to check it out? I guess I can tell if the bike is in mint condition right? No nicks or scratches etc..

·
Registered
98 Posts
i say go with the brand new one or look for a better deal. A 30 dollard difference isnt very good, the LBS will most likely give you a free tune up or two wich costs around 40 bucks. if anything goes wrong with it and you have a decent LBS they take care of it (usually for free or at a discount) . Something goes wrong with a used bike your SOL .I bought a new rockhopper last year and had to take it in 3 times within a couple months my lbs did everything for free, would have cost me a ton of money if i had to pay. you could easily get all those accesories used or onsale very cheap, just look on the hot deals section hear on mtbr on your local craigslist or on www.steepandcheap.com

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I was hoping to bargain with him still to hopefully 260. So how much should I pay for it?

$329 + tax (CA 8.25%) = $356

He bought it last June so maybe I can take it to where he purchased it if anything goes wrong. I'll have to ask him about that.

·
Registered
963 Posts