Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
My Sony MP3 works fine in Mammouth @ 10K.An IPOD is a MP3 type device so..? Wonder what would prevent it? Pressure or Temp?

·
since 4/10/2009
34,314 Posts
I have heard the same rumor. I have no experience, but what I've read is that it's the air pressure affecting the way the memory storage portion works. Supposedly, units that use a memory chip type of storage work fine, but the bigger ipods which are essentially hard drives have a difficult time functioning at altitude.

·
Registered
247 Posts
"Mypod" (thats what I call my Ipod) Works fine at the top of Mammoth 11,053 feet although I dont spend allot of time up there. I have had some problems with it in extreme cold. I think Ipod's are cool and totally worth the money. The only thing I really dont like is you can't easily take songs from your Ipod and transfer them into I-tunes.

·
Bicyclochondriac.
15,200 Posts
polish coyote said:
I just read that ipods do not work above 10,000ft. Does anyone have experience with
this? Is this correct?
Thanks
I don't know if it is 10,000 feet, but a friend of mine is a mountaineering guide, and he said his ipod does not work at high altitudes. I don't remember what altitude he said he had problems at. He has gone pretty high (Everest), so this could mean just about anything.

·
Registered
265 Posts
its possible that if you have a hard-drive based ipod ( which is basically anything other than the Nano ) then at higher altitudes then the hard-drives may struggle.

whole number of possible reasons - and i'm just speculating on one of them:

as the hard drive platters spin round, the read/write heads float just above the platter. the gap between the platter and head is normally created by the head floating on a cushion of air created by the disc spinning past the head.