Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! Long time lurker who's been reading as a guest for a while now. Finally signing up.

Really impressed with the in-depth knowledge you guys go into, and want to help further knowledge a little more! I am an optical design engineer by trade, focusing on the automotive aftermarket developing off-road lighting and other specialty lamps for OEM manufactures. I have extensive access to simulation tools like OPTIS and wanna help develop a database of sorts to help people learn and chose the right optics for their bike lights.

I can tell some users are really already on top of their game in regards to spying the differences between reflector bowls (short/wide vs long and narrow), can discern about how more lumens is NOT always better (thank you!) and a focus on beam pattern quality over peak numbers. Though one thing I don't see too often is discussion of lux numbers. Very easy to take your own lux readings when comparing lights, and I think would make comparing lights even more analytical vs subjective. I use this one around the house when I'm comparing lighting.

https://www.amazon.com/Dr-Meter-LX1...UTF8&qid=1503533140&sr=8-3&keywords=lux+meter

If you take measurements in a consistent way (at 10 meters or 32.8' away) in a pitch dark environment, can help better figure out what's making good lighting. Obviously beam patterns play a MUCH larger part in peak lux readings, but can also help identify which lamps will let you see further than others. I've complied some comparisons of my own on niterider, Ion 700, and a whole gaggle of cheap chinese lights I've bought. Some surprising gems, some total **** lights, haha.