Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Obtainium is now offering bearings integrated into their spring mounting hardware. High-end motorsports teams use hydraulic perches to allow springs to naturally pitch and rotate during compression cycles allowing for smoother, more predictable suspension performance. As a disclaimer, I'm a chemical engineer by trade so I am no suspension expert however the concept intrigued me.

Before I went home last evening, I raided the maintenance shop at work to "borrow" a needle-roller thrust bearing assembly in order to simulate Obtainium's idea. A 35 mm id and 52 mm od (straight from McMaster-Carr I believe) is a perfect fit for the Obtainium Fox DHX spacers. The thrust bearing assembly fits between the shock preload ring and the Obtainium spacer.

Cycling through the suspension immediately has a different feel with the bearings in place. I know... "different" doesn't always equate to better. The spring "floats" freely with the bearing assembly added to the shock interface. Even under my weight at the proper sag height, the spring rotates easily by hand. As the suspension cycles during riding, the spring end is now free to rotate. How this all translates into trail performance... only saddle time will tell.

At the very least, adding bearings to improve spring performance is an interesting concept that warrants further attention on my part. Most likely over-thought and over-engineered but the engineer in me enjoys this part of the ride. To be continued...

Jim

Text Font Metal Tan Circle

Bicycle accessory Bicycle drivetrain part Bicycle part Metal Steel

·
Team Fearless Descender
1,976 Posts
Yes, very interesting. I had thought about what sort of torque was going on at that (or both the top and bottom interfaces of the spring) interface, and I'm by no way an engineer. Obviously(?) this would work in a similar fashion on a CCDB.

Will be following this thread.

·