Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wondered if anyone has this bike and can give any opinions on spec and ride experience. I am fairly new to biking and would be using the bike mostly in north van/Squamish and occasionally at the bike park and big mountain rides. Currently I am only working through blue tech and flow trails.

I have a commencal tr29 on preorder but would need to wait a few months for it. The carbine expert can be had much sooner for the same price as the tr29 essential. I have rented the commencal tr29 and like the feel of the bike but I can’t find an intense to test ride.

·
Registered
95 Posts
It kinda comes down to how soon do you want to ride lol! I'm in sorta the same predicament. Do I purchase what I can actually get now/soon or order and wait months. I've never rode a commencal but I really do like those bikes. Would love to have a Clash.

·
Registered
95 Posts
If you're not hitting HUGE jumps, gaps, ROCKS...lol, I would think the carbon frame is fine. I mean look at some of the worlds best riders and what they ride. Plenty of them ride carbon frames. Carbon is great just like your aluminum frames but more expensive to repair. Main reason I don't look for a carbon frame bike is the price points. I'm not trying to save a few grams of weight here and there.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Wondered if anyone has this bike and can give any opinions on spec and ride experience. I am fairly new to biking and would be using the bike mostly in north van/Squamish and occasionally at the bike park and big mountain rides. Currently I am only working through blue tech and flow trails.

I have a commencal tr29 on preorder but would need to wait a few months for it. The carbine expert can be had much sooner for the same price as the tr29 essential. I have rented the commencal tr29 and like the feel of the bike but I can't find an intense to test ride.