Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys question. I've been doing intervals primarily with one 2.5 hr base ride per week for a while (6-10 hrs total/week). I've steadilly been increasing wattage as I improved so that I continue to push myself. The last couple weeks, however, my HR has plummeted. Normally during a 6 minute building interval my HR gets up to 195 (6'0" 158 lbs 20 YO). Since about Wednesday last week though I've been unable to get it above 180. Normally during my recovery spins I'd be at about 165-170, and now I'm down 145-160. I've been increasing the wattage to where my legs just can't take any more to try to compensate but still can't get my HR up.Recovery has been phenomenal too, dropping from 180 to 150 45 seconds in to a recovery spin. I'm pretty new to this but this makes me think I'm missing out on my top end of power by not getting my HR up. Any thoughts on why my HR is down?

Thanks,

Ryan

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
It's been my experience over the years that the better shape I get in, the lower my HR becomes for any given power level. Seems like when I first started training with HR, I was always well above my zones, and my HR was easy to spike. Not any more.

When I start becoming a little fried, then my HR will be one zone below range, but power will still be in proper range.

When I can't get HR or power in the proper range, then it's time to go home.

·
Registered
5,833 Posts
If your cycling heart rate has plummeted it's probably a sign that you've been doing quite a bit of training. It's just one of the reasons why using heart rate for your training zones isn't always a good guide to how hard you're trying.

Your power output can be improving and you're still working hard, even when your displayed heart rate suggests that you aren't.

http://forums.mtbr.com/showpost.php?p=7718822&postcount=96