Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
b a n n e d
6,213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, does anyone here know the scoop on IMBA's plans up in Caliente, NV?

Original IMBA post: https://www.imba.com/blog/patrick-kell/master-trail-plan-taking-shape-caliente-nv

Partial repost from last week: NEWS: Big plans for small-town Nevada | BIKE Magazine

Maybe there's something that I'm missing, as I'm pretty new to Nevada, but I do not at all understand why IMBA would invest (limited) resources into building trail that is 100+ miles from an established city (i.e., Las Vegas) centered around a town with a population of 1,100 people (Caliente, NV) and no infrastructure to support a riding "destination." Especially when there are several other options (i.e., St. George, Hurricane, etc.) that are closer to Vegas with well-established riding?

It makes zero sense to me . . . .

·
Registered
353 Posts
The BLM in the area and the local government wanted to do something with the lands in the area in relation to the nearby state parks. When this opportunity was identified IMBA got involved to develop a new trail system. The city and the BLM have donated funds toward the project and after that IMBA put some resources in as well. My understanding is that the BLM in the area were the ones to initiate and the mtb community chimed in. A few of us in town got together with Patrick Kell a couple of weeks ago for some beers on his way back from caliente. He said the officials up there were really excited about the whole project. It sounded very cool. I was confused at first and a little bummed that this wasn't being done here in Vegas....where the people are.....but it's all because the land managers up there want this to happen. I for one will definately head up for day trips and some weekend camping once it's done. I hear it's about 2 hours away.

·
Registered
13,211 Posts