Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
No, that's not phonetic
14,313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I see a lot of bikes with bashguards but no chainguide which strikes me as a bit odd.

A few years ago I started playing with basic chainguides. I started with a Heim, and then swapped the Heim roller with rollers from e13 and MRP, then I got an e13 DRS for the 6-Pack, then an MRL LRP, and have mixed and matched parts between them liberally. They confer a lot of benefits imo. The weight for one of the small, single-arm styles with a stepped roller is totally negligible unless you are a card-carrying gram counter. They are extremely easy to install as most just sandwitch between the drive-side bb cup and the bb shell. They virtually eliminate both dropped chains AND chainsuck in my experience.

Some setups don't lend themselves well to the addition of a chainguide, it's true. There may not be room for a 2+mm thick arm (LRP, e13) between the bb cup and the shell without causing interference somewhere. The Heim arm is extremely thin however (1mm), and when paired with an LRP roller, you have a simply foolproof, smooth, quiet, and durable setup.

Anyway, just wondering if people were not aware of them, tried them and didn't like them, did not care for the bother of setup, were afraid of the complication or weight, or just never thought about it...?

·
Black Lion
4,431 Posts
tscheezy said:
I see a lot of bikes with bashguards but no chainguide which strikes me as a bit odd.