Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If there's anybody out there who's ridden these trails before: how difficult would you say they are?

Context: I did literally my very first off-road ride ever this morning. It was a hoot and a half. I live close to both Frannie Reese State Park and Illinois Mountain (both in Highland, NY) and run there all the time when I'm not injured. Which I am now, which is why I decided to build up a mountain bike, as another way to get into the woods. Road riding is fun, but not quite the same as being alone in nature.

Anyway, I went and rode Frannie, and it seems rideable, even to a complete noob. There's one hill at the very south end that I couldn't get up, due to inadvertent wheelies/spinning out, but other than that, loads of fun. If you're in the know, any other trails of that level (or less) around here for me to check out?

Brimming with hubris, I went up to Illinois Mountain, which I knew would be harder. Turns out it's way, way too hard for me to handle. I was aiming to just do the red and white trails, which are basically baby level trail running that I've done literally hundreds of times (no offense to MTB riders here--on foot technical, I reckon, is way different than bike technical). After wiping out good on the red trail, directly into the reservoir (wish I had video of that), I proceeded to do the same several times on the white trail, then bail entirely as soon as it got seriously rocky. I just couldn't carry enough speed to get over obstacles without falling over.

The trails up on Illinois Mountain are super-legit on a bike, right? I kind of had that feeling from the few times I encountered bikers up there before. Mad props to anybody who can ride on that mountain. I can't even imagine the chops it must take to do the blue and yellow trails up top. I would be badly injured if I tried, I expect.