Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In case anyone cares to check it out or help with some of my noob questions :confused:

I have been riding an '03 Specialized HR since I bought it new (first mtb). Been itching for a newer DJ style 26er for awhile, but couldn't justify the cost. Ended up getting this one for $100 and it was local so no shipping :thumbsup: Its never been used but from looking at the mongoose site its not a current year model, maybe someone will chime in with the year.

I have never built a bike from just a fame before, so I haven't done anything with BBs or headsets. I guess any 1 1/8" headset will do?
And is an "standard American bottom bracket" what most all BMX bike run?
I like the idea of BMX cranks anyway ...

I sold my books back for a whopping $71 today so if I could pick up a crankset and bb for that I would be set. I plan to rob my HR of what I can to get it going. It has a new set of Azonic Outlaws and BB7s, as well as an '05 DJ3 that will get me by for now.

Its no MOB but I don't need a MOB anyway. Fun on a budget is what I am after. Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well I have alot of auto mechanic tools, but no I don't have a crank arm puller or a cup press.

I found the tech section on danscomp and it pretty much covers what I need to do.
http://www.danscomp.com/serve.php?serve=faq&html=faqs_tech.htm

I think I can do the headset with my rubber mallet as they suggest, or even in the vice. As for the cranks I am hoping I won't have to pull them back off, but if I do I think my 2 arm ball joint puller will work.

Now to find some cheap parts.

·
REALLY?
2,098 Posts