Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Id/ Lefty questions...

Hey guys,
I am new to the Ellsworth forum, I been on the Cannondale forum for years. Anyway, I now have a (new to me) 2001 Id and was looking for the geometry numbers with both the Romic and Fox Float shocks. Is the travel increased when fitted with the Romic? Head angles, seat angles?
It is now in my Park stand being assembled with a mix of old and new parts including my Lefty Max 130 as the suspension up front. I'll post pics soon if anyone's interested. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
36 Posts
not sure of the angles, however with the romic i believe it increases the rear travel from 5" to 5.75", thus making the ht and st a little slacker. i thought the lefty only worked with a 1.5" ht, the id is 1.25? good luck and post pics when it's done

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
It really depends on the exact shock you use, not the brand. Stock i2i was a 7.875" shock with either a 2" stroke or a 2.25" stroke. However, you can fit a 7.5" shock with a 2" stroke to lower the BB 1/2" and slack the head angle ~1 deg. 2" stroke is ~5.25" travel, 2.25" stroke is ~5.9" travel. The 2.25" stroke shocks slacken and lower things a hair but not much.

Typically the Romics were 2.25" stoke and the Fox floats were 2", however there are exceptions. My Romic came with 2" stroke :rolleyes: and there are 2.25" floats out there. IMHO the feel of the bike is very different depending on stroke and i2i. The 7.875" i2i doesn't feel good to me unless I run a fork with at least ~518mm Axle to Crown (AC) length.