Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
1,006 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If I get some Shimano Deore m6100 brakes, it gives me the option to buy resin, resin ice tech, or metal ice tech. If I have no name rotors already I want to use, which pad option will work with them? Do you have to use ice tech rotors with ice tech pads? Or will any rotors work with the pads?

Thanks for any response. I'm new to brakes

· Registered
1,161 Posts
You can use any of the options for your brakes, Icetech finned or not.

The rotors you have fitted could make a difference. Some rotors are 'resin pads only' and some are suitable for resin and metal/sintered, semi metallic, etc.

If you do really long steep decents which could overheat your brakes and cause brake fade then Icetech rotors along with finned pads would be advisable. If not and you just do average trails and descents but you want to use metal pads then some Shimano RT66 rotors would fit and match your pad type/shape properly and will be the best ones to go for imo. 😉

· Registered
178 Posts
If I get some Shimano Deore m6100 brakes, it gives me the option to buy resin, resin ice tech, or metal ice tech. If I have no name rotors already I want to use, which pad option will work with them? Do you have to use ice tech rotors with ice tech pads? Or will any rotors work with the pads?

Those are good common questions. As it was mentioned, it really depends on whether you have rotors that are "resin only" or not. If it does state "resin only", then you should only use resin pads. However if it doesn't have such a label, you should be able to use any pads that will fit your Shimano brakes.

· Registered
414 Posts

Shimano seems to be the only brand than I am aware of that sells "resin only" rotors. No doubt made out of some cheap soft steel.

Experience has taught me a few things which I'm happy to share:
  • 1 size Bigger rotors are the better way to increase stopping power vs 4 piston calipers