Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
blithering idiot
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got the new iBlaast2 in from Nightlighting in NZ today. They say it's the first one to ship with the new LED's (Cree R2 I am assuming). So here is my first impressions of it, but keep in mind that it is Cinco de Mayo and the Patron has been flowing...

Anyway, I have been using a Jetlites Phantom (helmet mount) for two years using a 14.8v Li-ion battery, which I have always preferred to any other light I have seen in person so far, halogen or HID. I haven't really ever run across anyone with a decent LED to compare with. The Jet light is just as nice as you can get with a halogen IMO.

The first impression of the iBlaast2 was that it was bigger than I thought it would be. The lens diameter must be close to if not equal to a MR16 bulb, but then maybe all triple LED lights are. It's bigger than the Jet anyway. But, after measuring the height of the light after mounting it, it was the same as the Jet because of the higher mount of the Jet. My digital scale is out of 9V battery at the moment, but the listed weights are 135 for the iBlaast2 and 70 for the Jet Phantom. I haven't ridden with the iBlaast2 yet, though, so I can't really comment on the difference.

The programming of the iBlaast2 is pretty easy, but requires reading the instructions pretty closely to get the hang of it. Once you do, it all makes sense. The whole procedure took 45 seconds, but was not actually necessary, I just wanted there to be two light levels instead of three and make sure the high setting was the highest possible.