Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ibex Trophy Comp X7 or Motobecane Fantom Comp?

Hey folks,

Newbie here but rapidly getting more and more hooked on riding each weekend I am on the trails.

Currently riding a Columbia Trailhead mountain bike with disc brakes I bought at a Dick's Sporting Goods for $169. Good beginner bike and one I will hang on to, but have the bug for a better bike.

I have spent a lot of time reading about the Ibex bikes and am pretty sold on the quality and value of Ibex. Was ready to pull the trigger on the Trophy Comp X7. But I found the Motobecane Fantom Comp with almost identical parts for $100 less ($595 plus free shipping).

Here is a link to the Motobecane:

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom_comp05.htm

Just would like some overal opinions as to what to buy.

Oh--and I am 6-1 195 lbs and fairly athletic. What size bike should I buy?

Thanks a whole lot in advance for any and all opinions.

See you on the trails.....

·
BrassBalled DropbarNinja
11,813 Posts
Dont think they have almost the same components. The Ibex Trophy X7 has better shifters and front derailer, a better chain... not too sure about the rest though. That site did not give enough details about some stuff like which Avid disc brakes those are and which RS Tora that is.

And as for frame, i'd definitely go with the Ibex. I've ridden one of Ibex frames and was really impressed with the build and how well they took the abused we gave it. They look sooooo much better then the Motobecane. Here's a pic of JakePay's Trophy...
The X7 is a different colour though, but i doubt it'll look any less good...

·
Cuánto pesa?
7,823 Posts
Welcome to the Forums......

Wolfpack, (20" frame :D)
Pull the trigger, order the bike you wanted, (CLICK HERE) before you lost your way...:thumbsup:

IMO, the Trophy Comp X7 cant be compared to the other bike mentioned....
You may ask, why?