Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.
Newbie here.
Been looking around a bit, came to these two. Ibex 350 got spectacular reviews on this forum and few others. Falls right into my $300 spending cap+shipping. Trek is a brand name I've seen around, 4100 almost fits into the same price range. I rode the 4100 about an hour ago, and thought the suspension was a bit stiff - and can't adjust it.

Any opinions are welcome.
Any suggestions for an alternative are welcome as well.
If it helps I'm about 5'7, 150, will be riding mainly in midwest (IL) - which should probably give a clue about the kind of trails.

Thanks much.

·
Premium Member
6,950 Posts
It is probably because everyone thinks you are JamyD aka kkriina. Assuming you are not, I would change your username to something different because you don't want to be confused with that moron.

To answer your question, you should do a search as this question comes up regularly. Basically, at the price you are at, you really should be trying to save up $100-200 more to get a better bike. For the money, the Ibex is a better value, but again, save up at least $70 so you can get the Alpine 450 for $369 which has a halfway decent fork. It is well worth the extra $70 over the 350. I would not bother with a trek unless it was the 4500 or above.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That helps, Thanks.

Unfortunately I can't seem to be able to change my name, unless a moderator/admin would be willing to help me out.

Now, as a follow-up question... at this price range, are there really any noticeable differences in the performance and feel of the fork, or are you talking strictly reliability?

·
Premium Member
6,950 Posts