Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to all you MTB types, I'm a newbie to this forum and relatively to the "Scene" so please be gentle with me ;)

Here's my quandry:

I have an almost new (100 miles covered) GT Aggressor XC2 (Re-badged Avalanche 2) which I've been out on about half a dozen times and I love it. BUT I suffer from "Upgradeitis" with most hobbies and life in general and yesterday, I won me an Aggressor XC1 (Avalanche 1) bargain on fleabay, NEVER been ridden!

Now here's my dilemma: I love the black frame colour of the XC2, as opposed to the grey of the XC1 but the XC1 has supposedly "Better" components for the £100 extra at Retail, so I'm quite prepared to swap things around to gain my ideal "Keepie" bike (If the difference in quality etc is worth the grief of the transplant!)

I need some advice please, as to how much better, if at all, the items are and MOST IMPORTANTLY why. Basically, it's the whole gearing system, the Forks and the Brakes that are needing to be judged as it may neo be as simple as just a straight "Frame Swap-over" Here are my choices:

Brakes: Tektro Auriga Comp Hydraulic V Shimano M485 Hydraulic

Forks: Suntour XCR 100mm (Rebound & Lockout) V Rockshox Tora 302 Air(Travel,rebound & lockout adjuster) My own observation is that the Lockout on the Suntour is 100% lockout but the Tora still has movement. On paper, the Tora seems better with it's multi-adjustment but all I can find is bad reviews.

Gears: Deore shifters & Front mech / Deore LX 27 speed rear mech V Shimano ? shifters, Acera front mech / Deore 24 speed rear mech

Chainset: Truvativ Isoflow V Truvativ 5D

In a nut-shell, I want to build the "Best" bike from the choices above.

I'm intending to ride on light woodland trails, slightly rocky moorland paths and a bit of roadwork. I'm a slip of a 270lbs bloke, so I won't be breaking any endurance records, probably just my spirit and the valves to my heart :D