Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Young, Shawn Young
3,165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seeing all these threads and messages about possible design and or performance issues has pretty much decided me to try a different company when its time. I've been riding Yeti Only since about 2004 I believe and I'm current on the Big Top as my only bike(which I really enjoy still).
What really has me stumped though are all these numbers and letters. SB100 this Sb300 , throw in a c for something else....Whatever happened to cool names like the Yeti Bling 575??? I generally leave the forum more confused than enlightened. That may have something to do with my old age but something they may want to take into consideration. Ride on guys!

·
I am Walt
6,393 Posts
Well, I'm new to Yeti, with an SB100, and I love it, and felt all of the branding, model info, etc, was pretty clear. And I'm 55, so not a youngster...

I was, and am, unfazed by all the negative posts. I consider all the info, but in the end, make the best informed decision for me. I'm happy, thus far.

·
Not a role model
1,312 Posts
I've been following since 2010 or so, and they went from ASR5 (AS-R5, ASR-5, ASR 5c, etc.), 575, and ASR7, to ARC, Big Top, SB-66a and SB-95a/SB-95c, to ASR, SB45c, SB5, SB55, & SB6, and finally now to SB100/130/140/150/160...

Missing names for the DJ, DH bike, and others, I'm sure, but seems to be kinda consistent. The hyphens and spaces appear and reappear, shifting around based on what the media and consumers used. They used to add C to the model name to denote carbon. Once they added a cheaper carbon frame, they called the lower end one "Enduro". Now they distinguish the top tier carbon as "Turq".

Marketing... meh. I just get annoyed by stupidity in general, but I wouldn't consider this stupidity. I guess they just needed a naming scheme to differentiate from older generation designs.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts