Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I just got an older rockhopper for $100 from a guy that was moving. I'm convinced that was a pretty good deal. I'm brand new to mountain biking and am extremely happy with my bike. It seems to ride very well and I've taken it on a bunch of trails around my area and love it. Is there anything I should look at upgrading? I'm 16 and don't have a ton of money to throw into this hobby right now, but I do have a job and may be able to do some small upgrades. Thanks for the advice

JB

·
Registered
402 Posts
First things first

The first thing you should do is list all the components of your bike.
Second uprade the comfort areas. If your not comfortable you wont ride. You dont ride, all the upgrades are a waste.
Third describe what type of riding you do and wish to do.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok. I'll say what I know and get the rest tomorrow.
Everything is stock as far as I know

Shimano Exage front and rear derailleur
Deore XT Brakes
Stock specialized front fork
Stock specialized wheels
Not sure what the front tire is, but the rear is a 2.3" specialized
Stock pedals
Specialized computer

I'm not quite sure what other details I need. That's what I know, but I can find out anything else if I need to.

JB

·
Registered
402 Posts
Comfort

OK, here are the comfort areas. Saddle, handlebar grips.
Safety areas. Brakes, tires, wheels.
Makes sure everythng works right.
If its broke replace it. Maybe upgrade one level. Don't spend alot of money on upgrades. As you get more experience you'll be able to see what you don't like about your bike. When you meet people on the trails ask them about their bikes. What they like and don't. This hobby can get very expensive. Learn to fix your bike yourself. Keep your drive train clean and lubed. Welcome aboard.:thumbsup:

OLD FAT GUY.....

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·