Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was sold on Specialized bikes earlier but I lost all of my bids on Ebay so I decided to go with something with a warranty. I ran across Motobecane bikes with a great price.. 2007s even. My problem is that I'm a total newb when it comes to parts and quality etc. and I can't just look at the prices to determine the differences.
One is the 2007 Motobecane Fantom Elite ( http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom_elite.htm ), another is the 2007 Motobecane Fantom Comp DS ( http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom_cds07RRLOCK.htm ). One obviously is DS and one is hard tail I guess with front suspension. Both are very similar in price.
Then there's always the ( http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/fantom_eds.htm ) Motobecane
Fantom EliteDS.

I'm assuming that they will pretty much go in order of price, but the Fantom Comp DS is listed as higher than the Fantom Elite, but is selling at a lower price.

Can anyone help me quickly before Monday? I'd very much appreciate the info. Thank you very much.
Bhaltair

·
Registered
4,199 Posts
I don't know how much you want to spend but a really nice bike is the Ibex Atlas Sport. I would have no hesitation recommending it to a friend. It has great components and can be had at several levels. Ibex has a manufacturer's forum on Mtb Review. Go there and see what the guys say.

Ronnie.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well unfortunately that does not even come close to answering the question about rating these components vs. each other. You just injected another bike to compare without comparing it! :)
I know Ibex is a great brand, but I don't know how it actually compares to any other.
For this same reason, I pretty much asked how the Motobecane rates with others. I know Motobecane's been in business for what... 80 years?