Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My current bike is from highschool and I rode it during college to get to class and in 2009-2010 I started riding on the trails around my undergrad school.

I don't know very much about bikes so I figure you all can help me pick a new one!

From the helpful hints thread:

1) Your budget. $500ish

3) What type of riding do you intend to do? Occasional road riding (around Lake Hefner) but mostly trail riding like Bluff Creek and the Stanley Draper Trails. I like jumps and downhill trails but there isn't much of that around me in OKC that I know of.

4) Do you have a preference over a hardtail or full suspension? I've never tried a full suspension

5) Age, weight and height. 24yrs, 260lbs, 6'8"

6) What sources will you consider buying from? Prefer cheapest bestest ;) I'm willing to buy online and do some assembly myself.

7) Do you want people to offer you alternative suggestions to issues such as budget, bikes already considered, and sources? Ditto

·
Registered
98 Posts
Giant has a couple hardtails down in that category, as well as Trek (3-series) and Specialized (Hard Rock and Rock Hopper... maybe just one of those is cheaper I can't remember).

You'll find a bike. Best thing is to go to some shops around town and see what they have, look at prices, and prod for information.

You do not have to spend $1000 to get a bike. You have to spend $1000 (and a lot more) if you really want to jump and be really aggressive, but for just starting out $500 will get you going on something halfway decent, with standard parts that can be upgraded if necessary.

-Eric

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, as he is quite heavy, I do not recommend him jumping on a XC bike. No offense LuckyDucky.

But like the rest said, you can purchase a decent new XC hardtail for the money or a better speced bike second hand.