Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
http://www.sportsauthority.com/fami...892903&categoryId=2141953&page=1&pageBucket=0

OK, I need to pick one of these bikes because I have a 25% off coupon. I just started riding again on this old Huffy 21 speed (its at least 15 years old) but it is showing its age and I just want a bike of my own.

I stick to paved trails but if i see some gator in a mudpit I want to be able to ride over and get a closer look (and ride back out quickly!)

Oh, by the way, if you promise not to tell me to go to the LBS you can use the coupon too:

http://www.slickdeals.net/?pno=7820&lno=2&afsrc=1

I only have $300 so i can get one priced up to $400 with the coupon. I'm not looking for the best bike just the most bang for the buck.

·
rebmem rbtm
270 Posts
my first real mountain bike was from sports authority, it was the diamondback topanga Comp. it was a good bike and around the 300-400 range if i remember correctly. i weigh 265 pounds and that thing held me well (other than rims).

·
Registered
2,658 Posts
Okay I won't tell you not to waste your money (hard earned or not), but at least have it checked over before you go out and ride.

You'll get twice the bike at a real bike shop, but hey being cheap isn't very popular.

·
Registered
109 Posts
1st-go for a hardtail, a full suspension at those prices will be nothing but a pogo stick with sloppy (at best) pivots. 2nd--see what the cost will be after your discount, and after you add on what it will cost a good legit bike shop to go over it for you. 3rd-compare cost of #2 and see what your local shop has close to that price-you'll get better aftermarket service and the correct set-up to start with does not cost extra. Let them know you are shopping and what you have to spend. You don't have to buy from your LBS, but at least compare-might not be as much of a difference as you think.

·
Registered
80 Posts