Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a beginner with doing my own bike maintenance. I installed new rotors and the rear was rubbing slightly against the brake pads. I have done pad adjustments in the past, but this time I accidentally unscrewed the wrong bolts on the brake. After I unscrewed the bolts, I squeezed the brake levers, but instead of the pads clamping down on the rotors, a bunch of brake oil spurted out. I tightened the bolts but now I can pull the lever down to the handlebars. It stops the wheel after 2-3 seconds but it obviously needs work. The brakes are Shimano hydraulic M446.

So I think I just need to add mineral oil to the brakes but I have never done that before and I don't have a bleed kit.

A) Did I mess this up really bad, or is this a quick fix?
B) Think it's worth it for me to buy a basic bleed kit, or should I just take it to the LBS?

Thanks!

·
DFMBA.org
1,935 Posts
If you're not comfortable doing a bleed take it to your lbs and have them do it. There is no harm in trying though, and its really a pretty simple procedure that you'll want to learn at some point anyway.

·
Magically Delicious
12,499 Posts

Bleeding your brakes is one of the more important maintenance items that (most) everyone who rides or has an interest in maintaining their own bike should learn how to do. While it's not as simple or intuitive as using a screwdriver, it's not a difficult process or skill to learn.