Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Sofa King We Todd Did
2,262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been neglecting my Surly 1x1 over the past week. That's because I've just brought new life to the bike I first got when I started riding about a year and a half ago. It's an entry-level Gary Fisher Advance. It never quite worked very well, and had some rather terrible components to it. At my last tune-up at the shop (I get free tune-ups at the shop for three years, so why not), they told me that my front derailleur was about to give up the ghost. So during a ride with a buddy of mine, we chatted about the issue, and naturally decided that I would give the whole bike a drivetrain overhaul (duh!).

New SRAM X.7 shifters, new derailleurs (XT front and X.7rear), new chain, new cassette, new ISIS bottom bracket, new FSA crankset. I was a clever shopper, so I scored some sweet deals. It was an exciting new project. And I got it done midweek this week. And I've been riding it every day since. It's like I bought myself a brand new bike!

And each time after riding, I park the bike right next to the Surly. And I feel wracked with guilt that I'm having so much fun on my overhauled bike.

I feel so dirty.

·
-_-
4,749 Posts
Sick 'em Matt!

Guys, lets let the student learn. Right now he's somewhere between step 4 and step 7 of "The Ten Phases of Singlespeeding" I referred to earlier. He'll come out of this illusion that multiple gears is better soon enough. Especially as soon as the snow and rains hit.

Obione

·
Sofa King We Todd Did
2,262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I'm not sure I'm of the mind that "multiple gears is better". I've got a few bikes - all of which are different - that I use for different occasions. Gearie full-susser, gearie hardtail, singlespeed hardtail for dirt, singlespeed for road.