Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I am brand new to the hydraulic arena. I just fit a set of Magura HS11 brakes onto my BMX bike, and I am in the process of getting them to the feeling I want (and have had on my mechanical U-brakes). So, I would like a primer on hydraulic fluid. Specifically, which provide the lowest resistance? The stiffest feel? Thank you for any help.

Thanks,
Peter

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
Magura uses mineral oil. I suggest just using the Magura Blood to bleed it. DO NOT use mineral oil from the pharmacy or drug store.

Never seen a hydro rim brake on a BMX. Post up pics when you're done.

I hope you have strong rims, those brakes are powerful enough to pinch cheap rims together. The stock pads can be a bit noisy.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
But is there a better fluid to use instead of the standard magura mineral oil? And is there even a way to change the fluid to another without contamination?

I have been wanting to do this for a while, so it is a dream come true for me. I have a very hard anodizing on my rims, so it will hold out better than others would, however, I do expect to be buying a new rim soon... probably a chrome one (since chrome is harder than even my Durrelectra anodizing)

·
Meh.
17,508 Posts
I don't mean the wear, I mean they produce enough power to fold the rims in on themselves.

As for the fluid, you can only use mineral oil in that system. Glycol based DOT brake fluid will be disaster for those seals.

I've heard of people using Shimano fluid, which I think is less viscuous? I have not tried it, so I can not recommend it.

In all reality, the difference will be almost impercievable (can't spell). And really, the Maguras are more than smooth and powerful enough already.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·