Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Complete newbie. I've ridden road bikes and gravel bikes for years but I went on a MTB lesson and now I'm hooked. I'm not looking to spend a fortune. Less than $1000 for a bike that will handle smooth to some rough trails. I need to build my skills up to doing the extreme downhill from the mountain trails I tried. For the lesson they loaned us a full suspension Aluminum bike. It felt super fast downhill and kinda scary at some points. The brakes were very touchy and I fell a lot. I know I need to practice so I am looking at something to just run around on local trails and build the skills. I am assuming with my budget I can only afford hardtails and those might be easier for me to control. I am 52 and 5'9" and 230lbs. (working on losing the weight but seem to only build muscle and losing volume right now). Ideally I'd buy from a LBS but I know inventory is non existent. I've checked craigslist and FB marketplace but I dont know what type of bike I should be looking for. Apologize for being a total newbie. I've been reading posts and trying to learn more.

I found this bike locally: https://www.pinkbike.com/buysell/3152398/

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
As a guy that made the mistake two years ago, you'll out grow a sub $1000 bike pretty quick or end up upgrading parts on it to the point where you should have just spent more from the start. A $800ish MTB handles gravel, smooth trails, and general bike riding well. But get onto a decent blue trail as your skills improve and you'll quickly find the bikes limits. $1200-$1500 is a really good sweet spot for beginner hardtails. You'll get better spec'd parts that won't need/want replacing/upgrading as fast.