Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
i went to some mtb trails with a friend and his mtb the other day, but i took my road bike (07 GT Legato 3.0) and it was really rough-going on the trails. no jumps, just a narrow path through the woods on soft dirt and rocks. i would like to start riding trails like this more often, but i need a suitable bike.

i have three options so far

1. terrible idea. nevermind.

2. sell my Legato and buy this bike:

it's a Gunnar Rockhound (really nice high-end custom frame) with a single-speed setup. this would basically be a really big bmx bike. i think i can make enough money off my Legato to buy this.

3. trade my Legato for this bike:
nevermind, silly over-built bike.

4!) trade my bike or buy another bike that comes along. i have been searching Craigslist but not much else has come up.

i have been riding bmx street/skateparks for over 15 years, so i know a lot about bicycles in general, but mtb's is a new realm for me.

·
pronounced may-duh
4,306 Posts

·
Registered
13,048 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yeah, i thought that might sounds like a terrible idea. it was worth exploring the possibility though.

the jump bike is out. it's over-built for my purposes. even if he builds it on that Gary Fisher Wahoo frame, it might be just silly. i will have to wait.

the Gunnar is still a possibility. however, it's a 17" frame on a 29er, so it might be too tall for me. i can ride a 17" 26er, but the bigger wheels might make just enough of a difference. ideally, i would probably ride a 16" 26er. the Gunnar site says their 17.5" frames have a standover hieght of 31". i wear pants with a 30" inseam, and i wear my pants a little "low." i don't want to castrate myself. i will ask the owner to measure the actual standover hieght.