Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a competitive DH racer
I'm about 5'7-5'8

I've never done BMX or Moto. I learned how to ride on a mountain bike. My first few bikes were hand-me-down semi-nice bikes but were WAY too big for me. So essentially I'm used to much bigger bikes than what's right for my height. Over the 6 or 7 years since I started riding I've used smaller and smaller bikes. I'm now using mediums. (ASX, Scythe)

I want to make the shift to a downhill bike and I seem to have a very nice opportunity before me to get a rather nice one. The problem is it's a small. I know I'm right at the edge of medium/small and there are a lot of riders out there (mostly originating from BMX) that ride sizes that are slightly too small for them.

Basically, I want to learn how to ride a small bike!

I've tried an small DH bike like the one I might getting (being vague FTW!) and I can get used to the ckocpit size with my arms but my problem is my legs. They hit the fork pretty badly and I'm already pretty used to knee'ing my handlebars on my medium (it has a single crown so not much fork problems here). This is especially a problem on short uphill bursts on DH courses when you throw your weight forward and pedal.

Possible Solutions:

Stem: I don't know whether to go shorter or longer. If shorter it would push my weight further back giving me (in theory!) more leg clearance at the expense of ckocpit room. If longer it would go with the regular rule of thumb for bike sizes that are too small for the rider.

Seatpost: I know it won't make a difference when I'm standing up but it might help "convince" my body to, by default, take a more rearward-biased stance.