Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ride half the race (12 miles) with only about 1 1/4" of drive side pedal spindle. :mad:
Needless to say, I'm done with Crank Bros. I hate to trash a company, but these pedals have failed me too many times to count over the past 2 years. I was comfortably in 1st place when this happened and I almost quit. I decided to dig deep and keep going. Even with a subsequent flat tire, I managed to run, semi-pedal and fight my way to a 4th place finish at Fair Hill in MD last Saturday.

I am leaning very heavily to replacing the eggs with a new set of Times.

I weigh about 185 pounds, so if you're using the stainless eggs please beware. The same thing happened to my team mate (twice actually).

Keith

Attachments

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
That sucks.

Looks like the pedal body is bent in the middle (probably right where the spindle snapped). I've been running eggbeaters for 3 years now and only once had a problem when the bolt unthreaded and the pedal body slipped off the spindle. I have the older ones though, maybe the new style isn't as tough.

·
drev-il, not Dr. Evil!
3,910 Posts
That really blows that it had to happen in a race. I've heard horror stories about Egg Beaters, but I've never heard of anything bad happening to Times. Better luck with them instead.

You were probably in a race series? Did this fourth place finish hurt you much?

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Trek Classic Series

Drevil said:
You were probably in a race series? Did this fourth place finish hurt you much?
Yes, the Trek Classic series. I needed to finish the race to clinch the overall series win. It's probably the only reason I kept going and I wanted to finish in spite of my mechanical issues.

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Perspective