Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi forum,

i wonder what it takes to strip paint from a frame in order to get the clear carbon surface?
Is it any different from doing this with an aluminium frame?
Will any painter's shop be able to do this or does carbon require special knowledge?
:confused:
Thanks

·
Registered
890 Posts
Oh man, I'm no expert in this area but I cannot imagine how someone would take the clearcoat and paint off a painted carbon frame. You may just have to lightly sand and repaint over the existing paint. You can't sandblast it or chemically strip it or even sand it too much. Carbon, I would bet, cannot take that sort of abuse.

Hopefully, you want to paint it a darker color than it currently is. Otherwise, you will have to prime it light to "colorblock" the original color and then paint it.

·
It's the axle
1,765 Posts
That's an interesting question. I don't know what kind of paint it is. That is a good place to start.

The one thing I can think of that may be the safest bet would be blasting with sodium bicarbonate crystals. It's not something you see very often, but it's done for special situations. I think a google search for soda blasting gives some results.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Do a search, it's been discussed before (I'm short on time). I think Hans says to sand.
A cool paint job would be to have the first half of the frame painted, then transition to clear, kind of how Rocky Mountain does their Maple leaf paint job. I like how on my orange mojo, the Ibis logo is a clear coat to the carbon fiber.

·
Keep Riding !!
167 Posts
As an example this BT Carbon Track Frame that was painted was sanded back to bare carbon and repainted (all by hand). I believe 'Wet & Dry' sandpaper was used at a fairly fine grade and took some time

It would be difficult to retain the 'Ibis' logo on the downtube perhaps a new Decal could be provided from Ibis