Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm a beginner trail builder and was wondering if there are ways to speed up drying on mountain bike trails. Could I use a lawn aerator to air out the trail and make it dry out faster. Thanks

·
Registered
5,577 Posts
In theory I suppose there are a lot of things or pieces of machinery you could do/use to make trail dry faster but the question is are they feasible? To "dry out" even a a few hundred meters of trail would be very time consuming and energy intensive let alone miles of trail. Practically I think we're at the mercy of the weather.

·
Builder of Trails
797 Posts
Hey guys I'm a beginner trail builder and was wondering if there are ways to speed up drying on mountain bike trails. Could I use a lawn aerator to air out the trail and make it dry out faster. Thanks
The best things are: a well designed trail, a well built trail w/ proper drainage, wind, and sun.

Other factors include: tree coverage, ground cover, soil type, rock content, soil compaction, humidity, and rainfall amounts.

As far as I know, there are no implements for lessening the drying time of a trail,......but I could be wrong.

D

·
Terrain Sculptor
4,692 Posts
Aerator is a bad idea. Your idea trail tread is hard packed so the water sheets off the top and never sits on it. That's why a side slope is desired. An aerator will loosen up your tread and cause ruts or cupping giving the water a good place to sit and not drain off.

·
Registered
516 Posts
A properly built trail with at least 5% outslope and grade reversals will aid in drying out. But like others have stated, soil composition and exposure to sun and wind are very helpful. Let mother nature do most of the work for you.

·
The White Jeff W
5,715 Posts
There's really nothing you can do to speed up the spring thaw except hope for a stretch of warm, sunny days with some wind.