Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting out downhilling and am getting my Airborne Taka soon. I'm not really familiar with all the terms, and have been hearing a lot about "dialing in the suspension", or something. What exactly does that mean, and how is it done? I know it has to do with shock and fork tuning, but what do I do? Would it be any different on a single pivot frame vs a DW link or other linkage bike? My shock is the Marzocchi Roco R coil over, and my fork is the Marzocchi 888 RV 200mm. Thanks.

·
Pivotal figure
6,361 Posts
"Dialing in" the suspension refers to getting the sag/rebound/compression settings adjusted to get the bike to handle optimally. You can find suggested settings on the Marz. homepage, that'll give you something to start with at least. The actual values will vary with suspension design as well as personal preference. Some people like their bike to ride super plush while others want it firm.

·
Registered
157 Posts